Rika Sensor是一个传感器制造商和环境监测解决方案提供商,拥有10多年的行业经验。

23793年
首页  > 信息中心  > 新闻  > 

NOAA北极报告卡重点介绍了海冰损失和极端野火如何标志着北极变化的另一年

NOAA北极报告卡重点介绍了海冰损失和极端野火如何标志着北极变化的另一年

2020-12-17
NOAA已发布了第15张北极报告卡,其中列出了气候变化继续破坏极地地区的多种方式,到2020年,气温第二高和夏季第二低的海冰会产生一系列的影响,包括气候变化的损失。俄罗斯北部有大雪和异常大火。
 
北极报告卡每年都会收集经过同行评审的原始环境观察结果,并对该地区的天气,气候,海洋和土地条件发生急剧而剧烈的变化进行分析。 2020年报告卡由来自15个国家/地区的133位科学家编辑,跟踪环境指标,为面临快速变化的气候和生态系统的地方,州和联邦领导人的决策提供依据。
 
退休的海军少校蒂莫西·加洛代特(Timothy Gallaudet)博士说:“过去15年以来,北极报告卡已帮助NOAA履行其使命,即提供国家需要的科学信息,以更好地了解气候变化如何影响北极和全球天气。”美国国家海洋和大气管理局(NOAA)海洋和大气部商务副部长。 “我们能否应对北极地区转型中的挑战和机遇,取决于我们观察和预测这些变化的速度和规模的能力。”
 
news-Rika Sensors-img
 
北极的海冰年龄在2000年(3月18日,星期三)和2020年(3月21日,星期三)冬季最高。今天,年龄超过五年的冰(白色)非常罕见;在加拿大北极岛上只剩下一条小丝带。年龄是冰厚度和耐用性的代名词。年轻的冰层更薄,夏天更容易融化。 NOAA Climate.gov地图,基于来自美国国家冰雪数据中心的数据。
 
北极报告卡分为三个部分:重要标志提供有关七个主题的年度更新:地面空气温度;地面积雪;格陵兰冰原;海冰;海面温度北冰洋初级生产力;和苔原绿色。其他指标探讨了定期更新的主题。冻伤报告了新出现的问题以及与北极长期科学观测有关的主题。
 
news-Rika Sensors-NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark ano
 
(左)2020年7月的海冰浓度与2003-2019年的平均值相比。红色区域的冰量比平均水平少100%,蓝色区域的冰量比平均水平多100%。 (右)2020年7月的叶绿素含量(海洋植物生产力的指标)占2003-2019年平均值的百分比。 7月份拉普捷夫海的海冰极低,这与浮游植物的生产力高于平均水平(深绿色)有关。玛丽·林赛(Mary Lindsey)的NOAA Climate.gov地图,改编自2020年北极报告卡,基于凯伦·弗雷(Karen Frey)提供的数据
 
今年的一些重要发现包括:
 
*   在2019年10月至2020年9月之间测得的北极年平均地表空气温度是自1900年开始保持记录以来第二高的温度,并在这一年内推动了整个北极生态系统的一系列影响。在过去10年中,有9年的空气温度比1981-2010年的平均温度高出至少1°C(2.2°F)。过去六年的北极温度都超过了以前的记录。
 
* 2020年春季,西伯利亚的极端高温导致欧亚北极地区在过去54年中观测到的6月降雪量最低。
 
* 9月达到的2020年北极最低海冰范围是卫星记录中的第二低。在过去十年中,随着北极冰层从更老,更厚,更坚固的冰团转变为更年轻,更薄,更脆弱的冰团,海冰覆盖层的总体厚度也在减小。
 
* MOSAiC探险队是北冰洋中部Polarstern破冰船的为期一年的探险队,它的冰层漂移比预期的要快得多,而且比预期的要薄,经历了使科学任务复杂化的海冰动力学。
 
* 2020年在俄罗斯北部萨哈共和国发生的特大山火,正值无与伦比的温暖的气温,并记录了该地区的降雪量。
在过去的30年中,由于当地浮游生物的数量增加以及磷虾和其他食物来源向北穿过白令海峡的运输增加,太平洋北极弓头鲸已经反弹,这是北冰洋长期变暖的信号。
 
国际北极研究中心(International Arctic Research Center)的阿拉斯加气候专家里克·托曼(Rick Thoman)说:“总的来说,这个故事是明确的。” “北极向温暖,少冰冻和生物变化地区的转变正在顺利进行。”
 
news-NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark another year of
 
格陵兰冰原在2020年再次失去了质量,但没有像2019年那样多。该图改编自2020年北极报告卡,该图跟踪了自2002年以来由美国国家航空航天局(NASA)的GRACE卫星任务测量的格陵兰岛的质量损失。在格陵兰岛西部,是在NASA行动IceBridge野战中从飞机上捕获的


这里可以自定义设置
在线咨询
在线咨询
在线咨询 输入中...

Rika Sensor is a sensor manufacturer and environmental monitoring solution provider with 10+ years of industry experience.

INFO CENTER

Home  > INFO CENTER  > News  > 

NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark another year of Arctic change

NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark another year of Arctic change

2020-12-17
NOAA has published its 15th Arctic Report Card, which catalogs the numerous ways that climate change continues to disrupt the polar region, with 2020 seeing the second-highest air temperatures and second-lowest summer sea ice driving a cascade of impacts, including the loss of snow and extraordinary wildfires in northern Russia.
 
The Arctic Report Card is an annual compilation of original, peer-reviewed environmental observations and analyses of a region undergoing rapid and dramatic alterations to weather, climate, oceanic and land conditions. Compiled by 133 scientists from 15 countries, the 2020 report card tracks environmental indicators to inform decisions by local, state and federal leaders confronting a rapidly changing climate and ecosystems.
 
“For 15 years, the Arctic Report Card has helped NOAA fulfill its mission of providing the scientific information our nation needs to better understand how climate change is affecting the Arctic and weather around the globe,” said retired Navy Rear Adm. Timothy Gallaudet, PhD, deputy undersecretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere at NOAA. “Our ability to meet the challenges and opportunities of an Arctic region in transition depends on how well we can observe and predict the pace and scale of these changes.”
 
news-Rika Sensors-img
 
The age of sea ice in the Arctic at winter maximum in 2000 (left, week of March 18) and 2020 (right, week of March 21). Ice older than five years (white) is very rare today; only a small ribbon remains along the islands of the Canadian Arctic. Age is a stand-in for ice thickness and durability; young ice is thinner and more likely to melt in the summer. NOAA Climate.gov map, based on data from the National Snow and Ice Data Center.
 
The Arctic Report Card is organized into three sections: Vital Signs provides annual updates on seven topics: surface air temperature; terrestrial snow cover; Greenland ice sheet; sea ice; sea surface temperature; Arctic Ocean primary productivity; and tundra greenness. Other Indicators explores topics that are updated periodically. Frostbites reports on new and emerging issues, and topics that relate to long-term scientific observations in the Arctic.
 
news-Rika Sensors-NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark ano
 
(Left) Sea ice concentration in July 2020 compared to the 2003–2019 average. Red areas had up to 100% less than their average sea ice, while blue regions had up to 100% more ice than average. (Right) Chlorophyll amounts – an indicator of ocean plant productivity – in July 2020 as a percent of the 2003–2019 average. Very low sea ice in the Laptev Sea in July was linked to much higher than average phytoplankton productivity (deep green). NOAA Climate.gov map by Mary Lindsey, adapted from the 2020 Arctic Report Card, based on data provided by Karen Frey
 
Some of this year’s significant findings include:
 
The average annual land-surface air temperature in the Arctic measured between October 2019 and September 2020 was the second warmest since record-keeping began in 1900 and was responsible for driving a cascade of impacts across Arctic ecosystems during the year. Nine of the past 10 years saw air temperatures at least 1°C (2.2°F) above the 1981-2010 mean. Arctic temperatures for the past six years have all exceeded previous records.
 
* Extremely high temperatures across Siberia during spring 2020 resulted in the lowest June snow extent across the Eurasian Arctic observed in the past 54 years.
 
* The 2020 Arctic minimum sea ice extent reached in September was the second lowest in the satellite record. Overall thickness of the sea ice cover is also decreasing as Arctic ice has transformed from an older, thicker and stronger ice mass to a younger, thinner more fragile ice mass in the past decade.
 
* The MOSAiC Expedition, the year-long expedition based from the Polarstern icebreaker in the central Arctic Ocean, drifted much faster than anticipated through thinner ice than expected, experiencing sea ice dynamics that complicated the scientific mission.
 
* Extreme wildfires in the Sakha Republic of northern Russia during 2020 coincided with unparalleled warm air temperatures and record snow loss in the region.
Pacific Arctic bowhead whales have rebounded in the past 30 years, due to increases in both local plankton blooms and transport of increased krill and other food sources northward through the Bering Strait, a signal of long-term warming in the Arctic Ocean.
 
“Taken as a whole, the story is unambiguous,” said Rick Thoman, Alaska climate specialist with the International Arctic Research Center, and one of three editors of this year’s report card. “The transformation of the Arctic to a warmer, less frozen and biologically changed region is well underway.”
 
news-NOAA Arctic Report Card highlights how sea ice loss and extreme wildfires mark another year of
 
The Greenland Ice Sheet lost mass again in 2020, but not as much as it did 2019. Adapted from the 2020 Arctic Report Card, this graph tracks Greenland mass loss measured by NASA’s GRACE satellite missions since 2002. The background photo shows a glacier calving front in western Greenland, captured from an airplane during a NASA Operation IceBridge field campaign


这里可以自定义设置
Chat Online
Chat Online
Chat Online inputting...